Mater Dei Catholic College Careers

HSC Minimum Standards

HSC Minimum Standards

To qualify for a Higher school Certificate from 2020 onwards, you now need to meet a minimum standard in 3 areas:

# Reading
# Writing
# Numeracy

This means students will have the basic reading, writing and maths skills needed for everyday tasks and future learning after school. It includes skills for tasks such as:

- following safety instructions in equipment manuals
- understanding a mobile phone plan
- writing a job application
- creating a personal weekly budget

(* information taken from the NSW Education Standards Authority website)

To determine whether you have met these standards, you will need to pass 45 minute online tests in each of these areas. If you don't pass a test the first time you try it, you have multiple opportunities to sit it/them again (from Year 10 right through until a few years after Year 12).

Note: If you are in Year 10 in 2018, you can use your Year 9 NAPLAN results to determine if you have met the minimum standards. If you achieved a Band 8 in one or more areas, then you are deemed to have met the standard and you don't need to sit the online test for that area.

The NSW Education Standards Authority have produced a short video that explains these standards to you - you can watch it below:

If you have a disability, you may be eligible for some extra provisions for the online tests (or may even be exempt). You should check with your teachers about this to see if you qualify.

For more information, you can visit the NESA website here.